Skip to main content

Malls and carparks obsession

My msg on Warringah Mall FB page (and I'm not usually one to write stuff on public FB pages) but I'm sick and tired of Sydney's fucking driving obsession and the dumbfuck decision makers who prioritise building bloody (tolled) motorways, tunnels, extra lanes, carparks over a decent public transport system which everyone can use and is far more cost effective and is sustainable for the future...

My stepmum told me.. "Oh there's a new carpark at Warringah Mall with around 1000 new spaces.." I thought to myself.. wow, that's a lot. Well it seems not.

The first time I went there were about 700 free spaces.. (guess I must've gone at a really quiet time) today I went, there were about 6.

"While I think the new renovations look great the new Woolworths/Big W carpark hasn't really solved any parking problems. It seems that building 5 levels of carpark with 1200 extra spaces did nothing to solve the problem. Going there on a Sunday morning it took me 15 minutes to find a space, and 10 minutes to exit, eating into the 3 hours of parking time. I'd hate to think what it's like on a Saturday afternoon.

I guess the only solution now is to build another 20 storeys on top of the existing carpark where it will take 1 hour to exit [sarcasm].

Having lived in Europe the last couple of years where public transport works so well, (and being a former NB resident since 1981) I'm shocked, saddened and disgusted with Sydney's and the Northern Beaches residents' obsession with driving everywhere. If there was a half decent public transport system (ie light rail or even buses that came much more frequently) then maybe people would use it more and reduce traffic to the mall and the need to build 25 storey carparks in the future..."

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Public transport just doesn't work in Australia

(pic: space required to move 60 people) I was writing letters to Sydney's transport authority 20 years ago about the pathetic state of public transport in this area.. I see that they haven't done anything since and have made it worse with plans to build more freeways, overpasses and tunnels. The other day I was driving to Chatswood to drop hubby at the station (I didn't dare drive to the airport, it would've probably taken 3 hours) and it took 20 mins to drive 2km along Warringah Rd. It was only 7am but since it was raining heavily and a weekday the road was completely blocked. Now this stretch of road runs right near the new fandangled hospital. What dickhead decided to build a giant hospital on one of the worst bottlenecks in Sydney? As I sat in the car not moving I thought to myself I'd hate to be someone in an ambulance.. where the fuck would the ambulance go? It would have to drive on the other side of the road facing oncoming traffic which is ...

Cycling?

Thirty years ago, 63% of Beijingers pedalled to work. Now only 12% do. Many people think that cycling is only for the poor. A dating-show contestant famously quipped in 2010 that she would “rather cry in a BMW than smile on a bike.” I think people in every country (except maybe Germany and northern Europe) think cycling and public transport is for the poor. Article: In China, bikes are back