Skip to main content

Melbourne doesn't have an airport rail link

I can't believe that Melbourne doesn't have an airport rail link and it may not have one for at least another decade or two or three! The population is almost the same as Sydney's and will soon surpass it in another decade or two.

Honestly, when it comes to thinking and planning about transport and the future Australia feels like a backward third world country, and also the US where the priority is me me me and stuff everyone else. Let's show everyone how important, special, and 'rich' we are because we own a car. Hey I own a car everyone! Look at me, look at me.. I'm rich! Let's drive everywhere, clog up all the roads, and pollute the air..

I've noticed that many (most?) people (even the majority of my family and friends) have a mentality that if you take public transport you are somehow 'lowly' or 'poor'. And they are way too special to be inconvenienced. I know people think this way from conversations I've had with them. Thank God not everyone thinks that way. Personally I'm happy to have an extra 2-3 hours per day not driving around stressing looking for parking, paying for parking, dealing with idiotic drivers, giving myself back pain and breathing in shit air...

This is where I value the Germanic and Scandinavian mentality. They don't think taking pubic transport or riding a bike means you are poor and pathetic. they are thinking about sustainability and their own health.

I'm not saying I never drive. Obviously for certain cases, distances and non-peak times it can be easier and quicker to drive and due to our sprawling cities Anglo culture that's the way it is everywhere in Australia... but why tf would you want to drive yourself to the airport?

The fact is, the population is growing at an astronomical rate and in the future nobody will be living in these huge houses on huge blocks of land. I can already see it happening over the last 10 and especially 5 years. Houses are being pulled down and replaced with townhouses or multi storey apartment blocks in their place.

In the future in all major cities everyone will live in apartments, and live in close proximity to shops etc. They will need and use decent public transport. Just like in Asia and Europe. But I guess stupid deluded people don't think that will ever happen to Australia (even though it's already happening).

Even though the public transport in my area in Sydney is pretty shit, I'm still quite impressed with the efforts the governement are making for the next 10 years are so, building new rail and tram lines... I don't know what the heck Melbourne is doing though? Building more multi-laned freeways by the sounds of it.

Why are such important decisions being left to the hands of seemingly 8 year old idiots?

Don't they realise that investing in public transport is investing in the future, by not polluting the air, the environment, and fucking up people's health by forcing them to drive everywhere because like everybody wants to drive themselves to the airport and spend a fortune to leave there car there, right? Or take an expensive taxi, both of which are slow slow slow if there is bad traffic.



Or you can take a dedicated airport train or tram and get there in half the time with no stress about traffic or breathing in shitty pollution or finding a parking and paying hideous prices for parking etc etc. But I guess that would mean moving up into the third world and 21st century.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Public transport just doesn't work in Australia

(pic: space required to move 60 people) I was writing letters to Sydney's transport authority 20 years ago about the pathetic state of public transport in this area.. I see that they haven't done anything since and have made it worse with plans to build more freeways, overpasses and tunnels. The other day I was driving to Chatswood to drop hubby at the station (I didn't dare drive to the airport, it would've probably taken 3 hours) and it took 20 mins to drive 2km along Warringah Rd. It was only 7am but since it was raining heavily and a weekday the road was completely blocked. Now this stretch of road runs right near the new fandangled hospital. What dickhead decided to build a giant hospital on one of the worst bottlenecks in Sydney? As I sat in the car not moving I thought to myself I'd hate to be someone in an ambulance.. where the fuck would the ambulance go? It would have to drive on the other side of the road facing oncoming traffic which is ...

Cycling?

Thirty years ago, 63% of Beijingers pedalled to work. Now only 12% do. Many people think that cycling is only for the poor. A dating-show contestant famously quipped in 2010 that she would “rather cry in a BMW than smile on a bike.” I think people in every country (except maybe Germany and northern Europe) think cycling and public transport is for the poor. Article: In China, bikes are back