Skip to main content

Melbourne's Skybus is great but the traffic is not

Melbourne your traffic is fucking shithouse, no better than Sydney's. Stuck at this one intersection not moving at all. Fucking intersection only lets 2 cars through at a time. Been stuck here over 20mins not moving

Build an airport rail ffs!!

To go from my hotel to the airport only took 50mins but on the way back it took almost 2 hours due to peak hour hell... Natalie I was somewhere on the edge of Docklands (took the new Docklands/Southbank Skybus route) stuck at this intersection for 20mins, got through, then stuck at another intersection/road for 20mins, I could have walked faster than the distance covered in those 40mins and even with the heat I was tempted to.. if only I didn't have this huge suitcase.

I seriously can't believe that Melbourne has NFI about the impending population boom and won't build better public transport. I also can't believe the so called 'best city in the world' to live in doesn't have a dedicated airport service! Even Brisbane with less than half the population has one!

It's obvious the people making important decisions are annoying baby boomers who won't even be around anymore in the future when the city turns to shit with total LA style gridlock.

Sydney airport rail opened in 2000
Brisbane airport rail opened in 2001

According to this video (link taken down by PTV), it's in the plans for Melbourne in the next 15 years... assuming it takes 5 years to build that'll be 2037. ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME? Holy crap this is a joke!



"The plan reflected the thinking of the time globally: cars had come to dominate planning ideology. Few of the rail projects – apart from the City Loop – were realised, while most of the freeways have been built and expanded numerous times. "

Because people in the 60s were fucking stupid.


I don't know what pains me more.. the bureaucratic bullshit in France (and smoking and dogshit everywhere) or the stupidity and ignorance of Australians when it comes to public transport .. I gotta stop thinking about it. It's giving me a headache.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Public transport just doesn't work in Australia

(pic: space required to move 60 people) I was writing letters to Sydney's transport authority 20 years ago about the pathetic state of public transport in this area.. I see that they haven't done anything since and have made it worse with plans to build more freeways, overpasses and tunnels. The other day I was driving to Chatswood to drop hubby at the station (I didn't dare drive to the airport, it would've probably taken 3 hours) and it took 20 mins to drive 2km along Warringah Rd. It was only 7am but since it was raining heavily and a weekday the road was completely blocked. Now this stretch of road runs right near the new fandangled hospital. What dickhead decided to build a giant hospital on one of the worst bottlenecks in Sydney? As I sat in the car not moving I thought to myself I'd hate to be someone in an ambulance.. where the fuck would the ambulance go? It would have to drive on the other side of the road facing oncoming traffic which is ...

Cycling?

Thirty years ago, 63% of Beijingers pedalled to work. Now only 12% do. Many people think that cycling is only for the poor. A dating-show contestant famously quipped in 2010 that she would “rather cry in a BMW than smile on a bike.” I think people in every country (except maybe Germany and northern Europe) think cycling and public transport is for the poor. Article: In China, bikes are back