Skip to main content

Car-centric Australia sux!


"Instead of spending big on roads – which encourage urban sprawl – Mr Thalis told Domain the government should be increasing investment in public transport and infrastructure which improves cycling and the city’s walkability – and consequently the health of Sydneysiders. "

Yeah... Stupid idiots! For fucks sake... Why don't they ask the people: Who likes sitting in traffic for hours every day? Who loves spending ages looking for parking and paying a fortune for it? Who loves fucking up their health and the environment while driving all the time and then complain they have no time to exercise?

The problem is all these idiots have never lived in a walkable suburb or city or country(!) and have no idea how NICE it is to be able to walk or bike ride everywhere or just take a short public transport ride.... The country and culture just encourages everyone to live wherever the hell they want (usually outer suburbs bc that's all most ppl can afford) then drive to work for hours on these hellish US-like freeways.

Why the hell do stupid people have all the power?

Can't they admit that this country/city is not perfect and what we've done in the past is not the answer for the future?

Can't wait to see what will happen when Baby boomers go and Gen Xers will have all the power bc Baby boomers will be gone soon and all the fucking dumb ass mistakes they make won't even affect them!

Baby boomers have NFI. They seem to be living in the glory days of the past when Sydney's population was 2million and not 5. And houses cost $10k and not at least $1-2M.
Fuck this country shits me when it comes to urban planning. Nobody has any fucking idea!

Link:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Public transport just doesn't work in Australia

(pic: space required to move 60 people) I was writing letters to Sydney's transport authority 20 years ago about the pathetic state of public transport in this area.. I see that they haven't done anything since and have made it worse with plans to build more freeways, overpasses and tunnels. The other day I was driving to Chatswood to drop hubby at the station (I didn't dare drive to the airport, it would've probably taken 3 hours) and it took 20 mins to drive 2km along Warringah Rd. It was only 7am but since it was raining heavily and a weekday the road was completely blocked. Now this stretch of road runs right near the new fandangled hospital. What dickhead decided to build a giant hospital on one of the worst bottlenecks in Sydney? As I sat in the car not moving I thought to myself I'd hate to be someone in an ambulance.. where the fuck would the ambulance go? It would have to drive on the other side of the road facing oncoming traffic which is ...

Cycling?

Thirty years ago, 63% of Beijingers pedalled to work. Now only 12% do. Many people think that cycling is only for the poor. A dating-show contestant famously quipped in 2010 that she would “rather cry in a BMW than smile on a bike.” I think people in every country (except maybe Germany and northern Europe) think cycling and public transport is for the poor. Article: In China, bikes are back