Skip to main content

Tested Uber for the first time in Melbourne

So I got to test Uber in Melbourne today thanks to trains on a certain line not running and me not knowing it in time and realising I would be very late for an appointment that would have been a complete nightmare to reschedule considering how long I waited for this one... I seriously don't know what I'd do without Uber.. It's saved me in Geneva (mainly to get me to the airport at the crack of dawn, or when I'm carrying too much stuff, since Geneva's transport is largely problem-free and excellent), Lyon (many times), Paris, Sydney and now Melbourne.

I don't use it often but it's saved me many times in many cases... notably in Lyon where strangely and annoyingly every single time I had a very important meeting/appointment the public transport would fail on me.. 3 important events - there'd be a strike, or it wouldn't be running to schedule, or late or just no explanation of everything...

Heck, if I could afford to use it every day I would... Melbourne's public transport is painful and pitiful  (and it beats driving bc I hate driving, finding parking and dealing with idiot drivers). It would have been nice of them to put up a sign or something saying the trains weren't running today before I wasted my money paying for the trip (and now can't get refunded- which I could have in Sydney).
I've figured/observed that generally speaking the only people in Melbourne who use it are tourists or very low income earners (notably immigrants from certain countries and blue collar workers) who live in middle of nowhere suburbs. How did I figure this out? When the train goes past (wealthier) inner city suburbs the stations are largely empty.. and the people that do catch trains seem to stay on them for a really really long time, like over 30min. When I caught the train all the way to Dandenong for hubby's Christmas party I noticed that nobody ever got off the train! People who were on it before me wouldn't get off till several stops before or even after Dandenong... It's nothing like in Sydney where people would catch trains for just 1-2 stops and many middle class/higher income people use them.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Public transport just doesn't work in Australia

(pic: space required to move 60 people) I was writing letters to Sydney's transport authority 20 years ago about the pathetic state of public transport in this area.. I see that they haven't done anything since and have made it worse with plans to build more freeways, overpasses and tunnels. The other day I was driving to Chatswood to drop hubby at the station (I didn't dare drive to the airport, it would've probably taken 3 hours) and it took 20 mins to drive 2km along Warringah Rd. It was only 7am but since it was raining heavily and a weekday the road was completely blocked. Now this stretch of road runs right near the new fandangled hospital. What dickhead decided to build a giant hospital on one of the worst bottlenecks in Sydney? As I sat in the car not moving I thought to myself I'd hate to be someone in an ambulance.. where the fuck would the ambulance go? It would have to drive on the other side of the road facing oncoming traffic which is ...

Cycling?

Thirty years ago, 63% of Beijingers pedalled to work. Now only 12% do. Many people think that cycling is only for the poor. A dating-show contestant famously quipped in 2010 that she would “rather cry in a BMW than smile on a bike.” I think people in every country (except maybe Germany and northern Europe) think cycling and public transport is for the poor. Article: In China, bikes are back