Skip to main content

The hot and the cold

PTV rant

More PTV fun (hell) yesterday... this time it's about the temperature. Now we're coming into the season where it's 4 seasons in one day...

The day started out at a nice 21-22deg. Now I know this is perfect for most people but for me this was cold (plus it was grey windy) and enough for me to need to wear a cardigan. So I get in the train and what do they have? Air conditioning blasting out at probably 15 degrees. I felt like I was sitting in a refrigerator about to die of hypothermia.

[ As the hubby asks me - Do Australians have to have aircon everywhere all the time? I agree with him. Even when it's not hot it's just there, on everywhere, all the time... It fucks up your skin and is a waste of energy. But as I tell him - you guys do the same in winter, everywhere is heated to seemingly 30deg in winter in Europe. as soon as I walk into a shop from 0 deg outside wearing my heavy winter coat I start sweating .. so it seems that Australians are really really afraid of the heat and Europeans are really really afraid of the cold while I'm really intolerant to both freezing airconditioning and sauna-like heating.]

Cut to the afternoon.. it's now 28deg and sunny (ie pretty hot) and I'm in a tram. A really fucking crowded tram. A really really small, old tram (why does Melbourne still use these old trams like a poor country/city? It's not 'cute'.. having one for tourism purposes is enough, but there are sooo many of these old trams which are TOO SMALL to fit the number of people and are completely useless for disabled people, prams and those with luggage with those huge gigantic steps)..

Anyway, despite the fact that it's not peak hour the tram is packed like sardines. I feel like I can hardly breathe. A rude group of middle aged Korean tourists push on (despite the fact that the tram is already full) and I'm ready to swear at them. 

I'm dripping sweat from every pore. The windows aren't even open and even if they are, I can't feel anything because now the tram has stopped at an intersection for what feels like an eternity. Still with my traumatised state from pickpockets in Europe I think to myself this is the perfect time for a pickpocket to go through my backpack. I look behind me and luckily it's only and old Australian man and an old Asian lady, hardly the type...

After what seems like an eternity we finally get through the intersection. and that group of 6 of so Koreans get off! after 1 stop?! ARGH. I get off too, after I'm now dying from HyPERthermia because I couldn't move enough to take my cardigan off. FFS.

And another thing: Why tf do the machines keep printing out receipts? EVERY single bloody machine at the train station spits out a receipt for every customer even though you say NO I don't want a fucking receipt. How much of a waste of paper is that every day?

Oh and I forgot to mention I got lost for like the 6th time (and twice in one day), despite that fact that I can read English perfectly fine and I never got lost in any other city, I still can't make sense of their useless tram maps and bus timetables.

It would be good to have someone working for PTV who actually uses it. I'm pretty sure they are all baby boomers who drive everywhere who don't have a fucking clue about what a mess it is and how user-UNfriendly it is. I constantly have tourists and random lost people ask ME for direction. If the maps actually made sense then people would't have to!

And they seem to have soooooo many staff, which I'll give credit for, are nice, and are helpful most of the time but they could save heaps of money but not employing hundreds of staff to just stand around most of the time, and put up useful signs. Should I be mad at the PTV head honchos for bad decision making/planning or for their graphic designers who can't design a map for shit? I could design a better one blindfolded.

Fuck, PTV is hell. It makes France look actually functional and organised. Apart from the random strikes and the ticket machines which tell me my card doesn't work when it does, and never get fixed when they're broken, I can't even remember having so many problems using public transport in France. And they have trams that fit more than like 10 people in them!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Public transport just doesn't work in Australia

(pic: space required to move 60 people) I was writing letters to Sydney's transport authority 20 years ago about the pathetic state of public transport in this area.. I see that they haven't done anything since and have made it worse with plans to build more freeways, overpasses and tunnels. The other day I was driving to Chatswood to drop hubby at the station (I didn't dare drive to the airport, it would've probably taken 3 hours) and it took 20 mins to drive 2km along Warringah Rd. It was only 7am but since it was raining heavily and a weekday the road was completely blocked. Now this stretch of road runs right near the new fandangled hospital. What dickhead decided to build a giant hospital on one of the worst bottlenecks in Sydney? As I sat in the car not moving I thought to myself I'd hate to be someone in an ambulance.. where the fuck would the ambulance go? It would have to drive on the other side of the road facing oncoming traffic which is ...

Cycling?

Thirty years ago, 63% of Beijingers pedalled to work. Now only 12% do. Many people think that cycling is only for the poor. A dating-show contestant famously quipped in 2010 that she would “rather cry in a BMW than smile on a bike.” I think people in every country (except maybe Germany and northern Europe) think cycling and public transport is for the poor. Article: In China, bikes are back