Skip to main content

Why doesn't Bondi Beach have a train station?

Because Australians hate public transport!

Because the selfish NIMBYs who live near the beach hate public transport!

When I'm in Sydney I rarely go to the Eastern suburbs but yes, those buses around Bondi and Coogee are an absolute nightmare. Always crowded and jam packed, a nightmare if there's a pram or wheelchair, of course no signs or anything so you have no idea where the fuck you are, because you can't see other the window.. You'd better hope you have a copy of the app on your phone because the driver will be useless too (not that you can even speak to him or her with the 50 people between you)..

I will say, however, that the bus interchange at Bondi Junction is amazing. I love how there are so many seats to sit on while you wait, and it's nice and clean and well lit and you don't have to breathe in fumes while you wait for buses. And it's conveniently located right where the train station is too.

Read this very interesting article here http://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-05-03/curious-sydney-why-bondi-beach-does-not-have-a-train-station/9485454

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Public transport just doesn't work in Australia

(pic: space required to move 60 people) I was writing letters to Sydney's transport authority 20 years ago about the pathetic state of public transport in this area.. I see that they haven't done anything since and have made it worse with plans to build more freeways, overpasses and tunnels. The other day I was driving to Chatswood to drop hubby at the station (I didn't dare drive to the airport, it would've probably taken 3 hours) and it took 20 mins to drive 2km along Warringah Rd. It was only 7am but since it was raining heavily and a weekday the road was completely blocked. Now this stretch of road runs right near the new fandangled hospital. What dickhead decided to build a giant hospital on one of the worst bottlenecks in Sydney? As I sat in the car not moving I thought to myself I'd hate to be someone in an ambulance.. where the fuck would the ambulance go? It would have to drive on the other side of the road facing oncoming traffic which is ...

Cycling?

Thirty years ago, 63% of Beijingers pedalled to work. Now only 12% do. Many people think that cycling is only for the poor. A dating-show contestant famously quipped in 2010 that she would “rather cry in a BMW than smile on a bike.” I think people in every country (except maybe Germany and northern Europe) think cycling and public transport is for the poor. Article: In China, bikes are back